NYS Child Welfare Worker Loan Forgiveness Incentive Program

Loan forgiveness to individuals who provide direct care services at a New York State-licensed child welfare agency.

  • Agree to work full-time at OCFS-licensed agency in NYS for 5 years

  • NYS resident for 12 continuous months prior to application

  • Obtained degree from a NYS college or university

  • Apply within two years after college graduation

  • Service Contract agreeing to work full-time as a child welfare worker providing direct care services in an OCFS-licensed voluntary not-for-profit child welfare agency in NYS for five years.

The deadline to apply for the NYS Child Welfare Worker Loan Forgiveness Incentive Program has passed.

Amount

$10,000

Awards are up to $10,000 per year, not to exceed 5 years, or the total amount of student debt whichever is less.

The maximum award is no more than $50,000 for a five-year period.

 

Frequency

Annual

Award is granted on an annual basis.

Duration

Up to 5 years.

Any loan forgiveness award payments received may have tax implications. A 1099 form will be issued by the NYS Office of the State Comptroller reflecting the total loan forgiveness payment assistance received by the recipient for the year. Any questions regarding potential tax implications should be directed to a tax professional, the Internal Revenue Service, or the NYS Department of Taxation and Finance.

Undocumented and other immigrant students: before submitting your application material, apply for eligibility under the NYS DREAM Act.

You can receive CWWLF if you meet the following residency requirements: 

  • You must be a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen.
  • You must be a legal resident of New York State who has resided in New York State for 12 continuous months.

Not a citizen or eligible noncitizen? Learn more about the NYS DREAM Act.

Eligible Student Loans

Eligible student loan debt used to fund an undergraduate or graduate degree from an approved NYS college or university which includes NYS or federal government loans, or private student loans made by commercial entities subject to governmental examination. This does not include Parent PLUS loans.

There is no income requirement or limit.

Financial Status

To receive the loan forgiveness, you must:

  • Be in good standing (a non-default status) on a student loan made under any NYS or federal education loan program or on the repayment of any NYS award, and:
  • Be in compliance with the terms of the service condition(s) imposed by any NYS award that you have previously received.

Execute a Service Contract agreeing to work full-time as a child welfare worker providing direct care services in an OCFS-licensed voluntary not-for-profit child welfare agency in NYS for five years.

Have Questions? 

Schedule a Call
HESC is here to answer your questions or help you with a specific issue. 

Monday through Friday (excluding holidays)
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Request an Appointment