Non-degree Part-Time Tuition Assistance Program (TAP)

Tuition Award for part-time students enrolled in eligible non-degree workforce credential programs at participating SUNY and CUNY colleges.

  •  Awards begin for the Spring 2024 term.

  • Available to part-time students attending approved non-degree workforce credential programs.

  • Must be a legal NYS resident for 12 continuous months prior to enrolling or qualified under NYS-DREAM Act.

  • Academic year 23-24 NYS net taxable income cannot exceed $80,000 for dependent students; $40,000 for married students with no dependents; $10,000 for independent single students with no dependents 

  • Academic year 24-25 NYS net taxable income cannot exceed $125,000 for dependent students; $60,000 for married students with no dependents; $30,000 for independent single students with no dependents

  • Must not have exhausted Tuition Assistance Program (TAP) eligibility.

Deadline

for the 2024-2025 Academic Year

Didn’t apply for TAP through the FAFSA?

Apply for TAP Get FAFSA Guidance

Amount

Upon receiving your Tuition Assistance Program (TAP) award estimate, please note that this figure represents the amount you would be eligible to receive if you were enrolled as a full-time student. 

As a part-time student, your award amount will be proportionally adjusted, taking into account both the full-time award figure, tuition charge, and the number of credits you are registered for. Your TAP award will be adjusted based on actual credits taken and actual tuition.

Frequency

Annual

Must complete the FAFSA and TAP application or Dream Act application each year for payment.

Any award payment received may have tax implications. Please direct any questions to a tax professional, the Internal Revenue Service, or the NYS Department of Taxation and Finance.

Undocumented and other immigrant students: before submitting your ETA application, apply for eligibility under the NYS DREAM Act.

You can receive TAP if you meet the following residency requirements: 

  • You are a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen.  AND
  • You are a legal resident of New York State and have resided in New York State for 12 continuous months.

Not a citizen or eligible noncitizen? Learn more about the NYS DREAM Act application

College & Program

Once in college, you must meet the following requirements:

  • Study at a participating institution in New York State.
  • Be enrolled as a part-time student taking the equivalent of one to eleven credits, applicable per semester at a participating college located in New York State.
  • Enrolled in an eligible non-degree workforce credential program.
  • Not have exhausted Tuition Assistance Program (TAP) eligibility.

Eligible programs:

SUNY - SUNY Part-time TAP eligible non-degree programs

CUNY - LaGuardia CC - Certified Medical Administrative Assistant
             Kingsborough CC - TAP for Workforce Programs

You are eligible to receive TAP if you fall under any of the following income limits:

For the 2023-24 Academic Year:
  • $80,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are a dependent undergraduate student within a household earning under the income limit, or
    • If you are an independent student (married or single) with tax dependents, or
    • If you are a student who qualified as an orphan, foster child, or ward of the court at any time since the age of 13.
  • $40,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are an independent student (married) without tax dependents.
  • $10,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are an independent student (single) without tax dependents.
For the 2024-25 Academic Year:
  • $125,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are a dependent undergraduate student within a household earning under the income limit, or
    • If you are an independent student (married or single) with tax dependents, or
    • If you are a student who qualified as an orphan, foster child, or ward of the court at any time since the age of 13.
  • $60,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are an independent student (married) without tax dependents.
  • $30,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are an independent student (single) without tax dependents.
Financial Status

To receive TAP, you must:

  • Be in good standing (a non-default status) on a student loan made under any NYS or federal education loan program or on the repayment of any NYS award.
  • Be in compliance with the terms of the service condition(s) imposed by any NYS award that you have previously received.

Have Questions? 

Schedule a Call
HESC is here to answer your questions or help you with a specific issue. 

Monday through Friday (excluding holidays)
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Request an Appointment