Tuition Assistance Program (TAP)

Eligible students can receive up to $5,665 to help cover tuition expenses.

  • Does not have to be paid back!

  • Available to students attending full-time, part-time and in non-degree workforce credential programs 

  • Must be a legal NYS resident for 12 continuous months prior to enrolling or qualified under NYS DREAM Act

  • Academic year 23-24 NYS net taxable income cannot exceed $80,000 for dependent students; $40,000 for married students with no dependents; $10,000 for independent single students with no dependents

  • Academic year 24-25 NYS net taxable income cannot exceed $125,000 for dependent students; $60,000 for married students with no dependents; $30,000 for independent single students with no dependents

Deadline

For the 2023-2024 Academic Year
For the 2024-2025 Academic Year

Didn’t apply for TAP through the FAFSA?

Apply for TAP FAFSA Guidance

AMOUNT

$500 to $5,665 for 2023-24 academic year

$1,000 to $5,665 for 2024-25 academic year (the minimum award increased to $1,000 effective 2024-25)

Award amount determined by:

  • Combined income, including family earned income and pensions.
  • Number of family members enrolled in college.
  • Financial status (dependent or independent).
  • Cost of tuition.
  • When you started receiving TAP or other NYS awards.

Estimate your TAP award

Frequency

Annual

Must complete the FAFSA and TAP application or Dream Act application each year for payment.

Duration

Dependent on length of program

3 years for students pursuing their associate degree full-time.

4 years for students pursuing their bachelor’s degree full-time.

5 years for approved five-year degree programs.

*Any award payment received may have tax implications. Any questions regarding this should be directed to a tax professional, the Internal Revenue Service, or the NYS Department of Taxation and Finance.

Undocumented and other immigrant students: before submitting your Scholarship application, apply for eligibility under the NYS DREAM Act.

You can receive TAP if you meet the following residency requirements: 

  • You are a U.S. citizen or eligible noncitizen. AND
  • You are a legal resident of New York State and have resided in New York State for 12 continuous months.

Not a citizen or eligible noncitizen? Learn more about the NYS DREAM Act application

High School, GED, or Ability to Benefit

  • Graduated from high school in the United States, earned a high school equivalency diploma (GED), or passed a federally approved  "Ability to Benefit" test.

College & Program

Once in college, you must meet the following requirements: 

  • Attend an approved college in New York State. 
  • Be a full-time student taking 12 or more credits each semester. 
  • Be enrolled in a degree-granting program of study and maintain good academic standing. 
  • Be charged at least $200 for tuition per year.

 

You are eligible to receive TAP if you fall under any of the following income limits:

For the 2023-24 Academic Year:
  • $80,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are a dependent undergraduate student within a household earning under the income limit, or
    • If you are an independent student (married or single) with tax dependents, or
    • If you are a student who qualified as an orphan, foster child, or ward of the court at any time since the age of 13.
  • $40,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are an independent student (married) without tax dependents.
  • $10,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are an independent student (single) without tax dependents.
For the 2024-25 Academic Year:
  • $125,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are a dependent undergraduate student within a household earning under the income limit, or
    • If you are an independent student (married or single) with tax dependents, or
    • If you are a student who qualified as an orphan, foster child, or ward of the court at any time since the age of 13.
  • $60,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are an independent student (married) without tax dependents.
  • $30,000 or less net taxable income (NTI):
    • If you are an independent student (single) without tax dependents.
Financial Status

To receive TAP, you must:

  • Be in good standing (a non-default status) on a student loan made under any NYS or federal education loan program or on the repayment of any NYS award, and
  • Be in compliance with the terms of the service condition(s) imposed by any NYS award that you have previously received.
     

Have Questions? 

Schedule a Call
HESC is here to answer your questions or help you with a specific issue. 

Monday through Friday (excluding holidays)
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Request an Appointment

TAP For Part-Time and Non-Degree Students